Africa

Leave a comment

October 10, 2011 by WITS Editor

A rhino charging through Brum...

Image by Ned Trifle via Flickr

One day I traveled to Africa to see the animals.  When I got there, it was better than I thought.  I thought it was going to be plain and dry, but the landscape looked amazing.  I grabbed a backpack, a tent, a hunting knife, flashlight, and a shotgun, and I set off to the savannah.

I hiked for 3 days until I got to a pond where I saw 17 lions.  They were in their pride, and a few were laying down in the water.  I  hid behind a rock.  Then I got startled because a gazelle ran past me.  The lions noticed the gazelle too, and started to chase it.  I saw one lion pounce on it and smash it to the ground.  Then he suffocated it.  The rest of the pride went over and started to gnaw on it until it was a pile of bones.

I decided to take the long way home.  I passed elephants, zebras, and hyenas.  I was getting low on water on the 5th day.  I found a pond to fill up my canteen and then set out again.  That night I made camp and fell right to sleep.  I heard a slithering sound around midnight.  I pulled out my flashlight and saw a rattlesnake crawling near my sleeping bag.  I whipped out my knife and chopped off its head.  Its body was still moving, so I threw it out the tent.

After a rough night, I started off again.  I was following my compass north.  After a few hours of travel, I encountered a rhino.  He was charging at me.  I had just enough time to pull out my shotgun and shoot him between the eyes several times.  He fell right at my feet.  I was frightened. I had barely escaped that time.  I knew I had to get back to my camp.  I’d been gone two weeks.  I took the rhino’s horn as a souvenir of Africa.

When I got back home to the United States, I showed my friends the rhino horn, and they were astounded.  I told my friends I’d take them on a tour of Africa someday, as long as they learned how to shoot a shotgun first.

By Cameron, age 13

Leave a Reply

Writers in the Schools (WITS)


Writers in the Schools (WITS) is the #1 arts education organization in Texas. With 80 writers and educators on staff, WITS reaches over 23,000 students a year in classrooms, community centers, museums, parks, and hospitals.

The glory of WITS is best expressed by the students--in their own words -- so this blog features essays, stories, and poems that were created by K-12 students in our program. All material (c) Writers in the Schools 2007-2013. If you wish to republish this work, please credit both the organization and the author and link back to this site. This material may not be used in commercial ventures of any kind.

Supporting WITS will help bring the pleasure and power of reading and writing to more Houston children helping to improve writing skills, build confidence, raise test scores, and enhance creativity.

Enter your email address to subscribe to A Poem a Day.

Join 6,327 other followers

Categories

Archives

