Monarch

Leave a comment

November 12, 2012 by witshouston

Taken by Kenneth Dwain Harrelson

I saw a Monarch butterfly. It was orange and black. It was cold so it traveled to Mexico where it was hot. The butterfly was sad because it did not have sugar water to drink. I gave it water, and it became my friend. We went to Texas together. I named her Sparkle. She did not have any friends but me, and I met her family; they are nice too. They live with me now. I take care of them, and on Fridays I get them more sugar water.

by Chaya, 2nd grade

Leave a comment

Writers in the Schools (WITS)


Writers in the Schools (WITS) is the #1 arts education organization in Texas. With 80 writers and educators on staff, WITS reaches over 23,000 students a year in classrooms, community centers, museums, parks, and hospitals.

The glory of WITS is best expressed by the students--in their own words -- so this blog features essays, stories, and poems that were created by K-12 students in our program. All material (c) Writers in the Schools 2007-2013. If you wish to republish this work, please credit both the organization and the author and link back to this site. This material may not be used in commercial ventures of any kind.

Supporting WITS will help bring the pleasure and power of reading and writing to more Houston children helping to improve writing skills, build confidence, raise test scores, and enhance creativity.

Enter your email address to subscribe to A Poem a Day.

Categories

Archives